Volvo World
Match Play

“Die Grüns sind beeindruckend und missen nichts, um den Augusta National zu beneiden”

Sergio Garcia

Images

Finca Cortesin, Heimat der Volvo World Match Play Championship 2009, 2011 & 2012

2009. Von links nach rechts stehend: Sergio García, Anthony Kim, Martin Kaymer, Ross Fisher, Henrik Stenson, Robert Allenby, Lee Westwood, Camilo Villegas, Angel Cabrera. Sitzend: Paul Casey, Retief Goosen, Oliver Wilson, Scott Strange, Rory McIlroy, Simon Dyson, Jeev Milkha Singh

2011. Von links nach rechts stehend: Y.E. Yang, Noh Seng-Yul, Retief Goosen, Jhonattan Vegas, Chrk Schwartzel, Nicolas Colsaerts, Ian Poulter, Alvaro Quirós, Martin Kaymer, Lee Westwood, Anders Hansen, Paul Lawrie, Aaron Baddeley, Ryan Moore Louis Oosthuizen. Sitzend: Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell, Paul Casey, Miguel Angel Jiménez, Ross Fisher, Johan Edfors, Luke Donald, Soren Kjeldsen, Francesco Molinari

2012. Von links nach rechts stehend: Nicolas Colsaerts, Peter Hanson, paul Lawrie, Retief Goosen, Richard Finch, Thomas Björn, Robert Karlsson, Martin Kaymer, Alvaro Quirós, Rafael Cabrela Bello, Camilo Villegas, Robert Rock, Darren Clarke, JBE Kruger, Tetsuji Hiratsuka. Sitzend: Tom Lewis, Brandt Snedeker, Sergio García, Charl Schwartzel, Ian Poulter, Justin Rose, Graeme McDowell, John Senden

Ross Fischer. Gewinner 2009

Ian Pouler. Gewinner 2011

Nicolas Colsaerts. Gewinner 2012

European Team Ryder Cup 2012. Bis auf den Captain spielten alle in der Finca Cortesin während den Volvo World Match Play Championship. Kapitän: Jose Maria Olazabal. Spieler: Ian poulter, Paul Lawrie, Lee Westwood, Justin Rose, Peter hanson, Francesco Molinari, Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy, Martin Kaymer, Nicolas Colsaerts, Sergio García und Graeme McDowell.

Rory McIlroy & Graeme McDowell

Luke Donald

Sergio García

Justin Rose

Alvaro Quirós, Lee Westwood & Miguel Angel Jiménez

Brandt Snedeker

Paul Lawrie

Martin Kaymer

Francesco Molinari

Peter Hanson

Rafael Cabrera Bello

Text-or-Image

Historie der Meisterschaft

Der Eröffnungsspieler der World Match Play Championship in Wentworth im Jahr 1964 war der legendäre Arnold Palmer. Ein visionärer Anwalt, Herr Mark McCormack, beschloss, eine Meisterschaft mit den Top 8 Spielern der Welt auszutragen. Palmer und Gary Player sollten die ersten fünf Jahre der Meisterschaft dominieren, wobei Palmer zweimal und Player dreimal gewann. Die frühen 1980er Jahre wurden von Greg Norman und Seve Ballesteros dominiert, die den Titel drei und vier Mal jeweils zwischen 1980 und 1986 gewannen. Das Turnier wurde als regelmäßiges Spiel gespielt, bei dem 32 Spieler am Tag Eins begannen und 36 Löcher pro Tag spielten, bis zum Finale mit 2 Spielern, das am Sonntag stattfand.

 

Im Jahr 2009 - mit Volvo jetzt an der Spitze - das World Match Play Championship verließ Wentworth zum ersten Mal in seiner 45-jährigen Geschichte und wechselte in die glorreiche Lage der Finca Cortesin in Spanien. Mit einem neuen Sponsor und Veranstaltungsort kamen ein neues Qualifikationskriterium und ein Round-Robin-Style- Gruppenformat, das bei den Spielern, Zuschauern und Medien einen großen Erfolg erwies. Englands Ross Fisher schlug Anthony Kim 4&3 im Finale und kam durch ein stellares Feld, das 11 der weltbesten 30 Spieler und 11 verschiedene Nationalitäten rühmte.

Im Jahr 2011 wurden weitere Verbesserungen vorgenommen für die zweite Auflage des Volvo World Match Play, die das stärkste Feld in der Geschichte der Meisterschaft - nunmehr auf 24 Spieler gestiegen - aufwies, das zusammen kam, um für den ersten Preis über 800.000 € gegeneinander anzutreten. Mit sechs der aktuellen Top-Ten-Spieler in der Welt auf dem Feld, einschließlich der Welt Nummern 1, 2 und 3 Lee Westwood, Luke Donald und Martin Kaymer, die alle die Welt Nummer 1 für sich beanspruchen möchten, war es Ian Poulter der noch einmal bewiesen hat, was für ein fantastischer Golfer er ist, indem er den Titel in einem unvergesslichen Finale gegen Luke Donald, schließlich 2&1 gewann.

Im Jahr 2012 war das Format das gleiche wie im Vorjahr für die dritte Auflage dieses großartigen Ereignisses und brachte einen unbekannten Nicolas Colsaerts in den Kreis der Champions, der das Turnier in einem engen Finale gegen Graeme McDowell in sehr schwierigen und windigen Bedingungen von 1 und höher gewann.

Das Volvo World Match Play hat Finca Cortesin in die Gruppe der großen Golfplätze und Weltklasse-Event-Locations aufgenommen. Die Kombination aus dem großen Meisterschafts-Design und dem Luxus und Charme des Finca Cortesin Hotels macht das Resort zu einem idealen Ort, um Veranstaltungen auf höchstem Niveau und höchster Qualität zu veranstalten.

Back to Top

Volvo World
Match Play

“The greens are impressive and have nothing to envy Augusta national”

Sergio Garcia

Images

Finca Cortesin, home of the Volvo World Match Play Championship 2009, 2011 & 2012

2009. From left to right, standing: Sergio García, Anthony Kim, Martin Kaymer, Ross Fisher, Henrik Stenson, Robert Allenby, Lee Westwood, Camilo Villegas, Angel Cabrera. Seated: Paul Casey, Retief Goosen, Oliver Wilson, Scott Strange, Rory McIlroy, Simon Dyson, Jeev Milkha Singh

2011. From left to right, standing: Y.E. Yang, Noh Seng-Yul, Retief Goosen, Jhonattan Vegas, Chrk Schwartzel, Nicolas Colsaerts, Ian Poulter, Alvaro Quirós, Martin Kaymer, Lee Westwood, Anders Hansen, Paul Lawrie, Aaron Baddeley, Ryan Moore Louis Oosthuizen. Seated: Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell, Paul Casey, Miguel Angel Jiménez, Ross Fisher, Johan Edfors, Luke Donald, Soren Kjeldsen, Francesco Molinari

2012. From left to right, standing: Nicolas Colsaerts, Peter Hanson, paul Lawrie, Retief Goosen, Richard Finch, Thomas Björn, Robert Karlsson, Martin Kaymer, Alvaro Quirós, Rafael Cabrela Bello, Camilo Villegas, Robert Rock, Darren Clarke, JBE Kruger, Tetsuji hiratsuka. Seated: Tom Lewis, Brandt Snedeker, Sergio García, Charl Schwartzel, Ian Poulter, Justin Rose, Graeme McDowell, John Senden

Ross Fischer. Winner 2009

Ian Pouler. Winner 2011
 

Nicolas Colsaerts. Winner 2012
 

European Team Ryder Cup 2012. Except for the Captain, all of them played at Finca Cortesin during the Volvo World Match Play Championship. Captain: Jose Maria Olazabal. Players: Ian poulter, Paul Lawrie, Lee Westwood, Justin Rose, Peter hanson, Francesco Molinari, Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy, Martin Kaymer, Nicolas Colsaerts, Sergio García and Graeme McDowell.

Rory McIlroy & Graeme McDowell

Luke Donald

Sergio García

Justin Rose

Alvaro Quirós, Lee Westwood & Miguel Angel Jiménez

Brandt Snedeker

Paul Lawrie

Martin Kaymer

Francesco Molinari

Peter Hanson

Rafael Cabrera Bello

Text-or-Image

Tournament History
The inaugural winner of the World Match Play Championship at Wentworth in 1964 was the legendary Arnold Palmer. A visionary lawyer, Mr. Mark McCormack, decided to start a match play event with only the top 8 players in the world. Palmer and Gary Player were to dominate the first five years of the Championship with Palmer winning twice and Player three times. The early 1980s were dominated by Greg Norman and Seve Ballesteros who won the title three and four times respectively between 1980 and 1986. The tournament was played as a regular match play event where 32 players started on day one, playing 36 holes each day until the final 2 players disputed the final on Sunday.

 
In 2009 – with Volvo now at the helm – the World Match Play Championship left Wentworth for the first time in its 45-year history, moving to the glorious location of Finca Cortesin in Spain. With a new sponsor and venue came a new qualification criteria and a round robin style group format, which proved a big hit with the players, spectators and media. England’s Ross Fisher beat Anthony Kim 4&3 in the final, coming through a stellar field which boasted 11 of the World’s top 30 ranked players and 11 different nationalities.

Further enhancements were made to the format in 2011 for the second edition of the Volvo World Match Play, which saw the strongest ever field in the history of the Championship – now increased to 24 players – come together to challenge for the €800,000 first prize. With six of the current top ten players in the world in the field, including the world numbers 1, 2 and 3 in Lee Westwood, Luke Donald and Martin Kaymer all looking to stake their claim to the world number 1 spot, it was Ian Poulter who once again proved what a fantastic match play golfer he is, by taking the title in a memorable final against Luke Donald, eventually winning 2&1.

In 2012 the format was the same as in the previous year for the third edition of this magnificent event, bringing an unknown Nicolas Colsaerts to the circle of champions, who won the tournament in a close final against Graeme McDowell in very difficult and windy conditions by 1 up.

The Volvo World Match Play has lifted Finca Cortesin to group of great golf courses and world class event venues. The combination of the great championship course design and the luxurious and charm of the Finca Cortesin Hotel make the resort the ideal place to host events of the highest level and quality.

Back To Top